Schedules of Indian Constitution

Schedules of Indian Constitution Schedules – 12 Schedules of India

The Constitution of India currently consists of 12 Schedules, which are an integral part of the Constitution and provide additional details and provisions related to various aspects of governance. The concept of Schedules was introduced in the Government of India Act, 1935, where there were 10 Schedules. When the Indian Constitution was adopted in 1949, it originally included 8 Schedules. Over time, with numerous amendments to the Indian Constitution, the number of Schedules has increased to 12. These Schedules cover a wide range of topics, including the allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha, the list of states and union territories, the official languages, and provisions related to the administration of tribal areas and more. Schedules serve as essential references for various legal and administrative matters in India’s constitutional framework.

Schedule 1 Constitution Of India

Schedule 1 of the Indian Constitution provides a list of India’s states and union territories, specifying their names and territories, as recognized within the constitutional framework.

Schedule 2 Constitution Of India

Schedule 2 of the Indian Constitution specifies the salaries and allowances for the President, Vice President, Governors, Judges, and Comptroller and Auditor General of India.

Schedule 3 Constitution Of India

Schedule 3 of the Indian Constitution contains forms of oaths and affirmations to be taken by elected officials and government servants, as well as the Judges of the Supreme Court and High Courts.

Schedule 4 Constitution Of India

Schedule 4 of the Indian Constitution outlines the allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) to each state and union territory, along with their respective terms.

Schedule 5 Constitution Of India

Schedule 5 of the Indian Constitution pertains to the administration and control of scheduled areas and scheduled tribes, ensuring their protection and promoting their welfare within the specified regions.

Schedule 6 Constitution Of India

Schedule 6 of the Indian Constitution deals with the administration of autonomous districts and autonomous regions in the states of Assam, safeguarding cultural and political rights within these areas.

Schedule 7 Constitution Of India

Schedule 7 of the Indian Constitution lists the states and union territories and their respective allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha, which represents states in the Indian Parliament’s upper house.

Schedule 8 Constitution Of India

It deals with the 22 official languages recognized by the Constitution of India:

  • Assamese Bengali Bodo Dogri (Dongri) Gujarati Hindi Kannada Kashmiri Konkani Mathili (Maithili) Malayalam
  • Manipuri Marathi Nepali Oriya Punjabi Sanskrit Santhali Sindhi Tamil Telugu Urdu

Schedule 9 Constitution Of India

Deals with state acts and regulations related to land reforms and the abolition of the zamindari system. – Also encompasses acts and regulations of the Parliament covering various other subjects. Historical Significance – Introduced by the 1st Amendment Act in 1951. – Originally designed to safeguard laws from judicial scrutiny regarding fundamental rights. – Laws added to this schedule after April 24, 1973, are subject to judicial review since a 2007 Supreme Court ruling.

Schedule 10 Constitution Of India

It contains provisions relating to disqualification of the members of Parliament and State Legislatures on the ground of defection.

Schedule 11 Constitution Of India

It contains the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats. It has 29 matters. Note:This schedule was added by the 73rd Amendment Act of 1992

Schedule 12 Constitution Of India

It deals with the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities. It has 18 matters.

Twelfth Schedule of the Indian Constitution
– Specifies powers, authority, and responsibilities of Municipalities. – Added by the 74th Amendment Act in 1992.
– Contains 18 matters related to urban governance.
Matters Covered
1. Urban planning and town planning.
2. Regulation of land-use and building construction.
3. Economic and social development planning.
4. Roads and bridges.
5. Water supply for domestic, industrial, and commercial use.
6. Public health, sanitation, conservancy, and waste management.
8. Urban forestry, environmental protection, and ecological promotion.
9. Welfare of weaker sections, including disabled and mentally retarded individuals.
10. Slum improvement and upgradation.
11. Urban poverty alleviation.
12. Provision of amenities like parks, gardens, and playgrounds.
13. Cultural, educational, and aesthetic promotion.
14. Burials, cremations, and crematoriums.
15. Cattle pounds and prevention of animal cruelty.
16. Vital statistics, including birth and death registration.
17. Public amenities like street lighting, parking lots, bus stops, and conveniences.
18. Regulation of slaughterhouses and tanneries.
Scroll to Top