Constitution Of India

The Constitution Of India Parts 1 to 22, Articles 1 to 395.

The Constitution of India is the supreme law of the country, providing the framework for its governance and functioning. It was adopted on 26th January 1950 and has undergone several amendments since then. Here’s a brief overview of the Constitution of India:

  1. Preamble: The Constitution begins with a preamble that outlines the basic ideals and objectives of the Indian state, including justice, liberty, equality, and fraternity.
  2. Parts: The Constitution is divided into 25 parts, which cover various aspects of governance, fundamental rights, directive principles, powers of the government, and more.
  3. Articles: The Constitution consists of 470 articles (as of my knowledge cutoff in September 2021), which are further divided into clauses and sub-clauses. These articles lay down the fundamental principles, rights, and duties of citizens, as well as the structure and functioning of the government.
  4. Fundamental Rights: Part III of the Constitution guarantees fundamental rights to all citizens, including the right to equality, freedom of speech and expression, right to life and personal liberty, and more. These rights are enforceable by the judiciary.
  5. Directive Principles of State Policy: Part IV of the Constitution contains the directive principles that provide guidelines for the government to promote social justice, welfare, and economic development. These principles are not legally enforceable but are considered fundamental to governance.
  6. Federal Structure: The Constitution establishes a federal system of government, where power is divided between the central government and the states. It defines the powers and responsibilities of the central and state governments and also provides for the existence of Union Territories.
  7. Parliament: The Constitution provides for a bicameral Parliament consisting of the President and two houses, namely the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (House of the People). Parliament is responsible for making laws and overseeing the functioning of the government.
  8. Judiciary: The Constitution establishes an independent judiciary with the Supreme Court as the highest judicial authority in the country. It safeguards the rights of individuals, interprets the law, and acts as the guardian of the Constitution.
  9. Amendment Procedure: The Constitution can be amended to meet the changing needs and aspirations of the country. Amendments can be made by a special majority of the Parliament, and some amendments require ratification by a specified number of states.
  10. Fundamental Duties: The Constitution also outlines certain fundamental duties for citizens, including respect for the Constitution, safeguarding public property, and promoting harmony and the spirit of common brotherhood.


Read complete Parts from 1 to 22 and Articles 1 to 395 from below:

Scroll to Top